Algomancy Rules Glossary

Abilities: Abilities are all of the card text on a card that are below the title (so not Attributes, stats, typing, or cost). See Attributes.

Adjacent: When put into a skirmish, creatures are assigned into Formations based on their relative positioning. There is infinite space for relative positioning to the left and right (the columns of the formation), but each column can only hold 2 creatures maximum in its rows. The relative front-back-left-right positioning of creatures determines their adjacency. Only creatures that are next to each other in one of these directions are considered adjacent (not in the diagonal directions). When not in a formation, creatures are not considered Adjacent.

Attributes: The adjectives in bold before the type line of creatures are Attributes. Things like Deadly, Flying, Poisonous, Electric and Devastating. Attributes describe any modifications to how the creature engages in combat. Attributes are shared between creatures in the same column (or "vertically adjacent"). So a column with a creature that has the attribute flying in front and Poisonous in the back will enter combat as a "Poisonous and Flying" unit (and the same is true if the positions were switched). Meaning they can only be blocked by flying creatures and their combined damage will all be poisonous. There is a lot of opportunity for fun combos by mixing attributes in this manner. If one of the creatures leaves combat (from death or being removed), their vertically adjacent partner loses any shared attributes they were receiving. So be careful!

Augment: The (+) symbol stands for the "Augment" ability. This ability functions similar to grafting in that it allows you to add abilities from one card onto another. To do so, the card must be in your discard. To activate the Augment ability, you pay the cost of the card as if you were playing it from hand (threshold requirements still apply) and target a creature to put it underneath. Then, you treat that creature as if it had all the text within the (+) paragraph. Once the creature dies, it and the Augment card are put on the bottom of the draft pool rather than going into the discard pile.

Conjure: Conjure is a mechanic that creates a spell token that is cast at a specific time. There are two types of conjured spells: Offensive and Defensive. When spells are conjured during combat, they are cast immediately. When conjured outside of combat, they are cast during the next combat step at the following times: Offensive conjured spells are cast the first time the player gets priority immediately after attackers are declared. Defensive conjured spells are cast immediately after attackers are declared, but AFTER any offensive spells have been cast (and BEFORE they have resolved). For example: player A conjures a Fireball 2 (an Offensive spell), and player B conjures a Growth 2 (a Defensive spell). After attacks, player A casts the Fireball 2 targeting a creature. Then player B casts the Growth 2 targeting a creature. Growth 2 resolves first, growing the creature, then Fireball 2 resolves and deals damage. You can save a 2/2 creature from a Fireball 2 with a Growth 2 this way. If the X for a conjured card is unspecified, it is 1.

Electric: Electric is an Attribute that says: "Excess damage dealt by an electric source can be directed to an adjacent creature." This ability can trigger repeatedly from a large damage source on small creatures, for example a row of 1/1 creatures hit by a 3 damage electric source will kill three of the creatures. Be mindful the creatures need to make a non-overlapping path for this to work, since you cannot go backwards. So if you hit the middle creature of 3 in a row, you can only arc to the left or the right but not both.

Formation: A Formation is the collection of creatures owned by one player in a skirmish after they have been assigned their positions. Only creatures in Formation can be Adjacent, and creatures cannot enter combat without being in a Formation. (A creature can attack or block alone, but that is still considered a formation).

Graft: The (switch arrows) symbol stands for the "Graft" ability. This ability allows you to add the effects from one card to modify the abilities of another. To do so, the card must be in your discard. To activate the Graft ability, you pay the cost of the card as if you were playing it from hand (threshold requirements still apply). Unlike the Augment ability, you can only graft onto creatures that have the (switch arrows) symbol, and can put the card on top or beneath the targeted card. Then, you read the card as if the (switch arrow) abilities were all connect with the word "and". So for example. When this creature enters combat: Conjure a fireball AND you gain 1 life. Once the creature dies, it and any grafted cards are put on the bottom of the draft pool rather than going into the discard pile. If a grafted card somehow loses the ability to be grafted onto (for example, if their graftable ability is removed somehow), all grafted cards are removed and returned to the draft pool immediately.

Historic: Historic cards sit in their own pile face down, and players begin the game with 2 random Historic cards in their hand. At any time during the draft, players may spend one of their two picks to take a random historic card from the top of the deck instead of card from the pack. Historic cards also all have the ability "Reveal this card from your hand: You may swap it with a card from the pack". Effectively allowing you to "save up" picks during the drafting process. They can also be played normally just like any other card. If a historic card is returned to the draft pool, return it to the historic deck instead of the regular card pool.

Resources: Resources are what you use to play your cards. You can get them by spending picks during the drafting step or through various card abilities. Each resource counts as one unit towards your threshold requirements of that resource type (the picture on the resource and card cost). They also have the ability to be expended for 1 mana towards a cards total cost (which appears inside of the white circle). For now I am testing out tapping resources to show they have been expended. Expended resources still count towards threshold requirements, but cannot be expended for mana again. They untap each turn.

Skirmish: During combat, there are multiple locations where combat is taking place. Each of these locations is called a Skirmish. For example, in a two player game, player A can attack player B and player B can attack player A. These attacks are separate and are met by separate groups of defenders. Each of the locations where attackers meet defenders is called a Skirmish. A good way to understand where skirmishes can take place is to think of each player as being physically located at a base (like a castle). There is one skirmish possible per player, and no more than that. When player A attacks player B, they are bringing their army to the location of player B's base. Player B may present a defensive army, and the resulting Skirmish takes place at player B's base. While this is happening, the same thing  may be happening at the base of player A, resulting in a second skirmish. 

Spell: Spells are one of the fundamental card types and are distinctly everything that is not a creature. To identify them, look for "spell" on their type line and the absence of creature stats. Spells are generally single use effects that go into the discard immediately after they have been cast and their effect resolves. Creatures are not spells.

Target: A target is something that has been chosen to direct an effect towards. You can only target something or someone that is in a Skirmish with you (this means you cannot target anything that is not yours during the main phase, which is outside of combat). Inside of combat, you may target the creatures or the player(s) within the skirmish, depending on what the restrictions of the card say.

Leave a Reply